Meet Our Staff

MetroCare_(1)

Metro Care Connection - Meet Our Staff
 

Metro Care Connection is staffed by certified and licensed professionals.
To contact one of our staff members, please follow the tables below.

The health staff is supervised by Rhoda Shepherd, the Director of Student Services for Cedar Rapids Community Schools.

Name / Email Position Location Phone

susan_rumelhart

Susan Rumelhart, ARNP
srumelhart@cr.k12.ia.us
 

Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Jefferson 558-2221

kim_rimmer

Kim Rimmer
krimmer@cr.k12.ia.us

School-Based Health Services Program Specialist Taylor 558-2481

sara_gordon

Sara Gordon, ARNP
sgordon@cr.k12.ia.us 

Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Metro 558-2272

deb_gordon

Debbie Gordon
dgordon@cr.k12.ia.us

Health Secretary Metro 558-2272

jill_asprey

Jill Asprey, ARNP
jasprey@cr.k12.ia.us

Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Taylor / Wilson 558-1122

 

The mental health therapists are supervised by Kathy Koehn, Outpatient Services Coordinator for The Abbe Center for Community Mental Health.

Name Position Schools Served Phone

barb_ruppel_2012

Barb Ruppel, LISW
bruppel@abbe.org
 

Mental Health Therapist McKinley Middle School 
Metro High School
560-0551

tyson_switzer

Tyson Switzer, LMSW
tswitzer@abbe.org

Mental Health Therapist Garfield Elementary
Nixon Elementary
Pierce Elementary
Wright Elementary
Harding Middle School
319-310-5081 (cell)

363-0636 
ext. 2709

Shoshanna_Guerrero_photo

Shoshanna Guerrero, LMFT
sguerrero@abbe.org

Mental Health Therapist Erskine Elementary
Grant Wood Elementary
Johnson Elementary
Viola Gibson Elementary Kennedy High School Washington High School
520-2214

Rita_Shaw_photo

Rita Shaw, 
LMSW
rshaw@abbe.org

Mental Health Therapist Arthur Elementary
Hiawatha Elementary
Kenwood Elementary
Truman Elementary
Roosevelt Middle School
Franklin Middle School
560-5766

brenda_keenan

Brenda Keenan, 
LISW, RPT
bkeenan@abbe.org

Mental Health Therapist Jackson Elementary
Jefferson High School
319-398-3562 (office)

trina_reiter

Trina Reiter, 
LISW, PPT-S 
treiter@abbe.org

Mental Health Therapist Cleveland Elementary
Grant Elementary
Madison Elementary
Van Buren Elementary 
Taft Middle School
319-398-3562 (office)

Lynn_Thibodeaux_photo

Lynn Thibodeaux, LMSW
lthibodeaux@abbe.org

Mental Health Therapist Coolidge Elementary
Harrison Elementary
Hoover Elementary
Taylor Elementary
Wilson Middle School
929-5941

john_sondag_photo

John Sondag, LMSW
jsondag@abbe.org

Mental Health Therapist School-Based Team Leader

Truman Behavior 
Disorder Pilot
398-3562

 

Please call the Metro Care Connection Program Office 
when you have a referral or need consultation.

For further information contact the Program Office at 319-558-2481.

The substance abuse counselors are supervised by Cherie Duggan, Youth Services Director for The Area Substance Abuse Council (ASAC).

Name / Email Position Schools Served Phone

garth_duffie

Garth Duffie
gduffie@asac.us

Substance Abuse Counselor Jefferson 390-4611

denise_mead_photo

Denise Mead
dmead@asac.us

Substance Abuse Counselor Kennedy 

Washington
390-4611

deb_schultejans

Deb Schultejans
dschultejans@asac.us

Substance Abuse Counselor Metro 390-4611